Skip to content ↓
Bishopswood School

Bishopswood School

The Equals Formal Curriculum has been designed for children who have learning difficulties to such a degree that they are consistently working at levels considerably below their age-related peers for all of their academic lives across all or most academic areas. 

The curriculum, emphasises life need in these areas:

  • Language and Communication
  • Personal and social development
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Life skills
  • Creative development
  • Physical Development and Healthy Lifestyles

The seven  schemes of work are non-key stage specific, so that pupils work at levels appropriate to their developmental stage.

These form a broad and balanced holistic curriculum that fully meets the needs of pupils struggling within a conventional National Curriculum model.  As both engagement and motivation are at the heart of each scheme of work, issues relating to challenging behaviour and pupils’ mental well-being are intrinsically woven into the fabric of the whole curriculum from beginning.